developed-responsibility
- +

Author Topic: First Time Comic Scanner Looking for Some Tips  (Read 2979 times)

Offline Hayabusa449

• DCM Member
First Time Comic Scanner Looking for Some Tips
« on: June 23, 2015, 06:08:09 PM »
Hey guys, long time reader first time poster here.

I recently acquired a copy of Commando Comics #6 (a rare "Canadian White" from Bell Features) and was thinking it would be nice to give back to this site that I have been following (if not necessarily a member) for many years.

Unfortunately, this is my first time scanning a comic book and I'm scared of damaging it (this is now the oldest and rarest comic in my collection). Do you veterans have any tips to minimize damage while still doing a high-quality scan?

I'm also missing a couple pages (13-14, 21, 23-28). I know THAT isn't an issue, but I wanted to confirm whether you guys prefer if I have a single page listing the missing page numbers, or if I should include individual "this page is missing" pages for every single instance.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2015, 07:55:18 PM by Hayabusa449 »

Digital Comic Museum

First Time Comic Scanner Looking for Some Tips
« on: June 23, 2015, 06:08:09 PM »

Offline Yoc

• S T A F F
  • Administrators
  • DCM Member
  • 14 Years Strong!
Re: First Time Comic Scanner Looking for Some Tips
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2015, 09:36:31 PM »
Hi Hay,
If you are very nervous about damaging your book there is the option of sending it to Rangerhouse, a DCM Staffer, with an amazing professional level scanner you can see in action on our Facebook page in the videos section.

If you'd like to try it on your own Geo has a tutorial posted here - http://digitalcomicmuseum.com/forum/index.php/topic,1826.0.html

Either technique works for missing pages.  Most people just mention in the final file name that it is incomplete or (XX pgs of XX).

Very much looking forward to seeing another Canadian White scanned and shared!

Good luck,
-Yoc

Offline tilliban

• VIP Uploaders