developed-responsibility
- +

Author Topic: Top 5 in each genre?  (Read 1019 times)

Offline garbanzo

• VIP
  • DCM Member
Top 5 in each genre?
« on: November 29, 2012, 08:17:23 PM »
Hi all.

Hoping for some help getting started with pre-code comic goodness.

What would you consider to be the top 5 series in each of these genres? Consider it all - art, readability, writing, attitude...

1. Horror
2. Science Fiction
3. Weird
4. Jungle

Thanks for the input. I'm very new to this age of comics, and I really don't know where to start!

Digital Comic Museum

Top 5 in each genre?
« on: November 29, 2012, 08:17:23 PM »

Offline Poztron

• Repeat Donor!
  • VIP
  • DCM Member
Re: Top 5 in each genre?
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2012, 09:23:28 PM »
While I'm not quite sure where horror ends and weird begins, my suggestions would be these.

Jungle: my favorites are Fiction House titles. Fox jungle comics also have plenty of Iger shop good girl art. Overall, I consider jungle titles to be a somewhat racist genre, often mostly an excuse for white women in bikinis ruling the natives, ala Rider Haggard's  She.

Horror and Weird: I'd rate Harvey titles pretty high in this area. Do an artist search at GCD (Comics.org) for Rudy Palais and check out stories by him. If you like weird, some of his art is truly that.

Science Fiction: the very best were in EC Comics, which aren't public domain and aren't found here. For space opera with good girl art, Planet Comics from Fiction House are quite good. I also have a fondness for some of the ACG sci-fi titles which overlap into 'weird'.

Western: my pick for a sleeper series is Dell's Gene Autry's Champion with some very charming and lively art by Mo Gollub in many issues (not all).