developed-responsibility
- +

Author Topic: Is it safe to use Exciting Comics character in a short film?  (Read 2463 times)

Offline DJMOON17

• DCM Member
Is it safe to use Exciting Comics character in a short film?
« on: August 16, 2012, 07:40:01 PM »
Hello everyone,

New here, linked to you guys from the Public domain character wiki.

Anyway I am a indie filmmaker and I was thinking about doing a short film or possibly longer, taking place in the mid 1950s and visiting some of the characters from the Exciting Comics (Crash Carter Air Cadent, Sergeant Bill King, etc). The kicker is, it's a blend of comics and real life - so in the story, most of the guys are worn out wrecks, some drunks, some maybe heroin addicts (drawing inspiration from Frank Sinatra's film "The Man with the golden arm") and most dealing with the guilt of their actions during the war (it's revealed that all their happy go lucky killing of "nips" and "krauts" was actually more detrimental to their mental health then you would have have thought.)

Think of it as being something like the Watchmen.

So my question is, is it safe? Can I really use the these characters or will  I dump a bunch of money into a project then more to promote the hell out of it and wake up one day and find a cease and desist order? Does anyone know of any lawyers or anyone I can call to check.

The only reason I want to use the characters, is because I think it's a neat gimmick -remaking old, large second rate comics into something new, rather than just being one of THOUSANDS of film kids coming up with their own silly super heroes.

Thoughts? Yay? Nay? I really wanna use these characters, but I really don't want to get my hopes crushed under the iron boot of burecracy.

Thanks

Dan