- +

Author Topic: scan size  (Read 15012 times)

Offline Yoc

• S T A F F
  • Administrators
  • DCM Member
  • 14 Years Strong!
Re: scan size
« Reply #15 on: August 29, 2010, 11:43:32 PM »
Thanks very much for your post Beau and Jim.
I've added Jim's post to the Scanning Tutorial in the Help Section.
Beau, if you ever wanted to do a tutorial on your scan techniques for readers here PLEASE do in a new topic of your own in the Help Section as well.  I'm sure everyone would love to read how you achieve your superior scans.
:)

-Yoc

Digital Comic Museum

« Reply #15 on: August 29, 2010, 11:43:32 PM »

Offline JVJ (RIP)

• VIP Uploaders
  • DCM Member
  • paix
    • ImageS Magazine
« Reply #16 on: August 30, 2010, 12:29:08 AM »
I would not think that's an especially good idea, Yoc,
though  I do take it as a compliment. It's not as if I have had a lot of actual experience scanning comics for these sites. It was meant more of a "what I WOULD do if I WAS scanning" think piece than a "how to" instructional. For all I know, it might turn out to be a terrible workflow. Perhaps we should get some feedback from the guys on the frontlines as to how my ideas hold up. Just saying...

Peace, Jim (|:{>

JVJ Publishing and VW inc.

Offline Yoc

• S T A F F
  • Administrators
  • DCM Member
  • 14 Years Strong!
« Reply #17 on: August 30, 2010, 01:00:37 AM »
Ok Jim,
I'll take it down.

-Yoc

Offline citaltras

• Comics collector
  • VIP Uploaders
  • DCM Member
« Reply #18 on: August 30, 2010, 11:54:02 AM »

I agree with JVJ that it may be convenient to store  high resolution copies of raw scans for preservation
purposes, but not for sharing or reading on a computer, where 200 ppi is large enough (or 300 with high compression as interestingly mentioned by darwination)

Concerning EPSON scanning software, I have found convenient to scan with unsharp mask option turned on at maximum unless I want a blur raw scan to start with.