- +

Author Topic: diablo666 aka Duane Thomas  (Read 1416 times)

Offline diablo666

• DCM Member
diablo666 aka Duane Thomas
« on: October 31, 2013, 03:07:44 AM »
Hello, folks. Please allow me to introduce myself. My real name is Duane Thomas. I make my living as a freelance writer, primarily writing magazine articles. I sold my first magazine article in 1989, and have been making my living at it (with occasional stints as a cab driver or armed security guard) since 1992 when I exited the Army after 10 years on active duty.

I began collecting comic books in 1975 at the age of 11. My main collection, the stuff with which I will never part, is 24 long boxes - the reject collection, the stuff I'd sell if anyone was interested, is another 12 boxes. About 15,000 comics all-told. I am very, very glad I started buying comic books when I did, because I see the stuff I bought for 35 cents when it was new selling today for $40 in comic book stores. There's no way I'd be able to afford to have the collection I have if I had to pay today's back issue prices.

I thought I would keep at it forever but I got out of it around age 38. Part of this was a financial consideration - for most of the 1990s I was buying about $300 worth of comic books a month - but most of it was that the vast majority of what was out there just wasn't doing it for me anymore. I mourned for a time when the heroes actually acted like heroes, and writers understood the lost art of the one 'n' done instead of giving us stuff requiring familiarity with an immense amount of backstory to understand what's happening in any individual issue. A time when comic books even smelled good instead of this vile odor of chemicals they  have today. With the loss in enjoyability of most of what was out there, eventually I couldn't justify the expense anymore and pulled the pin.