- +

Author Topic: Character "Borrowing"  (Read 3233 times)

Offline profpike

• DCM Member
Character "Borrowing"
« on: October 03, 2013, 11:13:47 PM »
Okay-so I posted that Cracked Article and I'll admit that I'm kind of new to the "hard core" golden age fans-but even in my cursory examination, there just seem to be too many coincidences of "borrowed" characters from lesser publishing houses that were used by the ones that became majors. Is it just me or am I onto something here?

Digital Comic Museum

Character "Borrowing"
« on: October 03, 2013, 11:13:47 PM »

Offline CharlieRock

• VIP
  • DCM Member
Re: Character "Borrowing"
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2013, 01:28:22 AM »
I'm thinking a lot of the guys back then who were working for a publisher were told "Just make a comic book like this" and the editor held up a competitors copy. The writer then made a comic book like that.

Offline Roygbiv666

• Repeat Donor!
  • VIP
  • DCM Member
    • Standard Comics
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2013, 09:28:31 PM »
I'm thinking a lot of the guys back then who were working for a publisher were told "Just make a comic book like this" and the editor held up a competitors copy. The writer then made a comic book like that.

Wonder Man?

Offline John C

• Administrators
  • DCM Member
    • John's Blog
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2013, 04:38:21 AM »
Wonder Man?

Who, to Eisner's credit, is much more distinctive from Superman than I would have imagined from the history...

Offline Roygbiv666

• Repeat Donor!
  • VIP
  • DCM Member
    • Standard Comics
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2013, 05:25:43 AM »
The copyright infringement basis of the case was mainly the structure of the story wasn't it? The issue was very similar to an Action Comics issue, Judge Hand citing various panels.

Wonder Man?

Who, to Eisner's credit, is much more distinctive from Superman than I would have imagined from the history...

Offline John C

• Administrators
  • DCM Member
    • John's Blog