- +

Author Topic: Books featuring Atomic Iconography  (Read 700 times)

Offline willettsj

• DCM Member
  • Golden Age Fan
Books featuring Atomic Iconography
« on: February 01, 2021, 09:14:35 AM »
Hi All,

My name is James, and I'm a Grad Student currently doing research on the way that the Atomic Bomb came to be used in popular culture - specifically, the way that comics responded to nuclear weaponry in the aftermath of World War Two!

I'm looking for early examples of atomic imagery - nuclear weapons, mushroom clouds, atomic blasts - or atomic naming conventions or origins - anything 'radioactive', 'fallout', 'atom', or 'nuclear' inspired, basically. I'm guessing that war comics will mostly feature these, but they could also be from horror, sci-fi, or superhero comics too ...

I'd especially like to find examples of the idea of the 'Atomic Sublime', an idea that mushroom clouds were beautiful, or that nuclear weapons were somehow a link to the divine. Anyone have any ideas about that?

Thanks so much for any help you can offer,

Digital Comic Museum

Books featuring Atomic Iconography
« on: February 01, 2021, 09:14:35 AM »

Offline erwin-k

• VIP
  • DCM Member
  • New Pulp Writer
Re: Books featuring Atomic Iconography
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2021, 04:17:04 PM »
One of the first comics inspired by the A-Bomb was Spark's Atoman The series only ran a couple of issues but the imagery is great.

link:  https://digitalcomicmuseum.com/index.php?cid=267

Around 1980 a Superman giant reprinted a story from late 1945 or early 1946, I think. In the story Luther had duplicated the A-Bomb at roughly the size of a lawn dart. He hand threw the thing at Superman over Metropolis at less than 1000 feet up. Supes caught the thing and smothered the blast in his hands. The story came so early, I doubt any pictures of the real devices had been declassified.