developed-responsibility
- +

Author Topic: Hello and every greeting in between!  (Read 1010 times)

Offline OzzieQ

• DCM Member
  • Golden Age Fan
Hello and every greeting in between!
« on: July 20, 2020, 04:33:04 PM »
Hello everyone,

My name is Ozzie, I am an avid comics fan and have been since my youth.  I heard about his web site from the TwoMorrows book American Comic Book Chronicles.  I have collected comics from all eras but I mainly focus on Iron Man and Tales of Suspense as my primary focus of collecting.  I am also a playwright and teacher.  I teach American History and Theatre.  I have recently had a real fascination with the earliest research of comics going to the Platinum Age and the 1950's.   

I hope to be researching the history of comics both socially and politically so I can write plays about creators and the era. 

Thanks for reading,  I hope to meet some of you in the different threads provided. 

Ozzie

Digital Comic Museum

Hello and every greeting in between!
« on: July 20, 2020, 04:33:04 PM »

Offline Yoc

• S T A F F
  • Administrators
  • DCM Member
  • 14 Years Strong!
Re: Hello and every greeting in between!
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2020, 09:22:12 PM »
Welcome Ozzie!
If you are already familiar with TwoMorrows you are well on your way to learning a great deal about the history of our mutual hobby.

Tooting my own horn a little I suggest you check out the Frank Thomas Archives which contains a bio by his still living daughter Nancy with some family photos as well as the complete public domain works by her dad.

The Phantom Lady Archives also cover a lot of ground you might enjoy.  Both collections are in the Archives and Collections section of the site.

Have fun with the scans,
-Yoc

Offline erwin-k

• VIP
  • DCM Member
  • New Pulp Writer
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2020, 09:38:06 AM »
Hi Ozzie,

I'll second Yoc about TwoMorroes. They have published huge amounts of comic history.